The region is also formally known as the Southern Tagalog Islands.



MIMAROPA is an administrative region in the Philippines, designated as Region IV-B. It is one of two regions in the country having no land border with another region, the other being Eastern Visayas. The name is an acronym combination of its constituent provinces, which are: Mindoro (divided into Occidental Mindoro and Oriental Mindoro), Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan (El Nido, Puerto Princesa). The region is also formally known as the Southern Tagalog Islands.

Calapan City is the regional center. However, most regional government offices such as the Department of Public Works and Highways are in the city of Quezon in Metro Manila.

The region was part of the now-defunct Southern Tagalog region until May 17, 2002. On May 23, 2005, Palawan and the highly urbanized city of Puerto Princesa were moved to the region of Western Visayas by Executive Order No. 429. However, on August 19, 2005, then-President Arroyo issued Administrative Order No. 129 to hold the earlier EO 429 in abeyance pending a review.


Region IV-B, together with Region IV-A, were officially created with the partitioning of Region IV (Southern Tagalog) into the two regions on May 17, 2002 with the issuance of Executive Order 103 (EO103) by then-President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo; for the purpose of promoting efficiency in the government, accelerating social and economic development and improving public services in the provinces covered. Region IV-B was designated as MIMAROPA, which stands for the island provinces belonging to the Southern Tagalog region — Mindoro (Oriental and Occidental), Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan.

On May 23, 2005, Executive Order 429 was issued, moving the province of Palawan to the region of Western Visayas,[5] designating Region IV-B as MIMARO. However, Palawan residents criticized the move, citing a lack of consultation, with most residents in Puerto Princesa City and nearly all municipalities preferring to stay with Region IV-B. Consequently, Administrative Order No. 129 was issued on August 19, 2005 to address this backlash. This order directed the abeyance of Executive Order 429 pending the approval of an implementation plan for the orderly transfer of Palawan from MIMAROPA to Region VI.

The 2010 Philippine Census of Population reported the region name as 'Mimaropa' and included the province of Palawan as part of the region.[7] As of 2014, it is not clear whether the transfer of Palawan to region VI is still considered pending by the Philippine government. As of 2014, the National Statistical Coordinating Board of the Philippines continued to list Palawan province as part of the MIMAROPA region.

MIMAROPA Languages

Tagalog is widely spoken in the region. In Marinduque, the language is spoken with a unique blend of Bicolano and Visayan languages. Aside from Tagalog, there are other major languages being used by the people in different provinces and localities.

In the interior of Mindoro, various languages are spoken by Mangyans, and they include Iraya, Alangan, Tawbuid, Hanunoo, Tadyawan, Buhid, and Ratagnon. The latter is a Visayan language with fewer than three speakers. Romblon, being near the Visayas, has three main languages that belong to Visayan language family namely, Romblomanon, Asi, and Onhan. Palawan has its own set of native languages such as Cuyonon, Calamian Tagbanwa and Palawano that are spoken by significant numbers of people.


There are many scenic spots in the MIMAROPA. Some of them are the Bathala Cave, Balanacan Bay and Tres Reyes Islands in the province of Marinduque; the White Island in Mindoro; Bonbon Beach in Romblon; and, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park and El Nido Marine Reserve Park in Palawan.

Mindoro (divided into Occidental Mindoro and Oriental Mindoro), Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan (El Nido, Puerto Princesa)
Region IV-B MIMAROPA Advertising